Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Hans Ströher

Prof. Ströher received his diploma- (1980) and PhD-thesis (1983) as well as his habilitation (1990) with the *venia legendi* in experimental physics at the Justus-Liebig University of Giessen (Germany). He became a professor at the Johannes-Gutenberg University of Mainz in 1995 and a full professor at the University of Cologne in 1998. The latter was combined with the position of Director at the Institute for Nuclear Physics (IKP-2) of Forschungszentrum Jülich (FZJ) in Germany. In 2021, he retired at Cologne University and shortly thereafter as IKP-2 Director.

During his scientific career, Prof. Ströher has been a member of the following international collaborations: TAPS (GSI Darmstadt and Mainz University), for which he was the spokesperson from 1993 to 1996, A2 (Mainz University), ANKE, COSY-13, WASA-at-COSY, PAX and JEDI (IKP of FZJ). The research resulted in (co-)authorship of 300+ scientific papers. He received a PhD Award from Giessen University in 1983, and two honorary doctorates (Ivane Javakhishvili Tbilisi State University in 2010, Georgian Technical University in 2014) for his contributions to the Georgian-German Science Bridge (GGSB). He obtained two ERC Advanced Grants (POLPBAR in 2010, srEDM in 2016) of the European Research Council (ERC). He is a member of the German Physical Society (DPG), EMAAS (since 2012) and Academia Europaea (since 2014).

Prof. Ströher was member of Program Advisory Commitees (PAC) of KVI Groningen (NL) (2000 – 2006) and Jefferson Lab (USA) (2007 – 2010) and he served on International Advisory Commitees (IAC) of CSR/HIRFL (Lanzhou, China) (2009 – 2012) and KIU (Kutaisi, Georgia) (since 2019). He was a member of the International Spin Physics Committee (ISPC) (2010 – 2021) and the Nuclear Physics European Collaboration Committee (NuPECC) (2003 – 2021). From 2004 to 2011, he was on the Editorial Board of Nuclear Physics News (NPN) of NuPECC and Associate Editor of European Physical Journal (EPJ A) from 2013 – 2019. From 2011 – 2018, he was Co-Chair of the biannual International Meson Physics Conference (MESONxx) in Cracow (Poland).

He was deputy chair (2012 - 2014) and chair (2014 - 2018) of the Scientific Council (WTR) of Forschungszentrum Jülich and Deputy-/Chair of the Scientific Councils (WTR-V) of the Helmholtz Association (HGF) of German research centers (2014 - 2018).

After retirement, he continues to be active in the further development the Georgian-German Science Bridge (GGSB), an umbrella network for scientific research, technological development, student education and cultural exchange between Georgian Universities and German reserach institutions.

September 2024

Hans Ströher